Leonora Carrington

The Giantess

Last weekend, I fell in love with the surrealist paintings of Leonora Carrington. On our way to the Goodwood Vintage Festival, we stopped by at Pallant House Gallery in Chichester, where the Surreal Friends exhibition is showing. The works on show really highlight the story of Leonora, a British artist (still working today), with a room or two dedicated to her friends Remedios Varo and Kati Horna. Originally attracted to the idea of seeing Remedios Varo, who I spoke of a few months ago, my penchant for Carrington’s idea’s prevailed and her paintings absorbed me for an age.

Coincidentally, Louisiella had bestowed me with a promise of a book loan the day before. With great enthusiasm she waved a beautifully covered novel before my eyes and it was none other than Leonora’s book “The Hearing Trumpet”. So she is a writer too.



3 Comments

Filed under Book, Painting

3 responses to “Leonora Carrington

  1. Poor Leonora, she left the world just recently. I feel that Leonora is one of the Surrealists whom should have gotten more attention.

  2. Frank

    I just finished The Hearing Trumpet. It was bizarre and kept my imagination going. If you liked it, maybe try The Infernal Desire Machines of Dr. Hoffman.

  3. Thank you Frank, I’m going to buy a copy on your recommendation.

Leave a comment