Twisted Black Vine

Through a process of colour limitation, I extracted this design from a photograph I used for study, found on Pinterest. Originally I was interested in painting a portrait with strong contrasts. When it was complete, I felt it lacked detail, so designed the twisted black vine beside the portrait using the colours left on the palette. This informed the pattern on the red scarf. Later I repeated the pattern to see if it could be applied as wall paper.

Black Vines originBlack Vine web LBlack Vine web MBlack Vine Room cat

3 Comments

Filed under Illustration, Painting

3 responses to “Twisted Black Vine

  1. I love this! Your work is so beautiful.

  2. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you
    hire out a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

    • Hello, the layout of this blog is thanks to WordPress. My website is based on a template from Cargo. Both hosts have really great designs to work with. I hope this helps, and thank you. Best, Z

Leave a Reply

